Review

Younique Make Up Product Review

younique

So as an avid make up fan since a very early age, i relish any chance to put my face on at any time.  So when i received a Younique make up kit in my blogger mail this weekend, i have to say i was pretty excited!!!

For anyone who doesn’t already know Younique make up is a range of make up and skincare products that you can buy from your local distributors, mine comes in the shape of a lovely pair of gals called Clare and Amy.

So within my kit, i received a range of make up (including a lip splash id had my eye on, bonus!) as well as a couple of skin care products.  Being ever efficient, the girls had even popped some disposable brushes in there to boot.

The bag itself was fabulous, a metallic purple made it really stand out and made the contents seem all the more exciting. Full of pockets there was room to fit everything you could imagine in there.

20170825_084412

So after oooooing and ahhhhing at every piece and flashing each colour at my very uninterested hubby (miserable sod), i decided the best thing to do was to prep my skin first, so out come the Pore Purifying Cleanser…..

20170825_085050

I already had clear skin as id not worn any make up for two days so prior to using the cleanser i had used a facial wash of my own that i use every day.  The cleanser doesn’t have much of a distinctive smell to it, it is just a very subtle, fresh smell, the directions are literally to massage into damp skin and rinse, its that easy.  Very different to other cleansing washes I’ve used in the past, the tiny blue bits in the solution were not harsh at all, i didn’t feel like i was washing my face with a rough toilet brush, i could apply plenty of pressure and it was still comfortable.

Once i rinsed my face i literally felt like i’d been given new skin, it felt lovely.  I suffer with dry skin on my forehead and down my nose due to sun damage as an inexperienced, sun worshipping 18 year old, and its never left me. No matter what products i use I’ve never been able to get rid of this shiny, red skin; that the second foundation or even worse powder is applied i start to look like a scabby old leaf.  Being called Rudolf the red nose reindeer by my dad at Christmas sounds cruel, but i have to admit i do think i’d make a good candidate for Santa if his main man is ever out of action.

Anyway i digress, so the nose was pretty shiny, as was the forehead, cheeks and chin, but i say shiny as in clean, absolutely pristinely clean, not a dry patch or blocked pore to be seen, i really do love this product.  Previously i have used a very expensive facial kit by a well know brand (mentioning no names, Clinique) and i’ve used it for a very, very long time; i do have to admit this product is in fact on a par with my favourite brand, its just as lovely and doesn’t smell too dissimilar, it does what it says on the tin and i would recommend this product to any skincare fan to be used before or after their make up regime.  It left my skin feeling clean and fresh and thats good enough for me.

So once the face was cleaned and prepped it was time to use the foundation….

20170825_084441.jpg

The first thing I loved about the Mineral touch Liquid Foundation was the application, the dispenser acts like a pipette to remove the liquid from the bottle, I used the colour Velour and it was so perfect for my very fair, very pasty complexion I was very pleasantly surprised. It is difficult to colour match other foundations, I’m either to dark or too pale but I have to admit this was a very happy medium.  The foundation itself was really nice, very light, smooth, silky and gave a really nice finish. For anyone with unmarked skin a thin layer of this make up would be fine, my skin is not looking it’s best at the minute so I did need to apply extra to certain areas.  The product was easy to blend and even gave the old nose a bit of a new look.  While it didn’t hide my nose and fod of all it’s dryness, it did hide a considerable amount which I was really pleased with.

20170827_182036.jpg
I know I look like someone’s just ran over my cat but it gets better.

So next, i applied the moodstruck precision pencil eyeliner crayon, one word, PERFECT!!!!! full coverage, smooth, so easy to apply with really dramatic effects, no need for multiple applications; what more can i say, its everything you could ask for in an eye pencil!!!!

Now was the time to use the Moodtruck Addiction Shadow Palette, number2.

20170825_08501720170825_085023

20170825_115902.jpg
My eyebrows are tattooed on so i used my own eyebrow powder.

So for my upper brow, directly under my eyebrow i used Romantic, directly underneath on my lower brow i used Blissful, on my upper lid i used Perplexed and on my lower lid, i used Peppy.  As an additional i also used Romantic in the corner of my eye by my tear duct which brightens the eye and i also used blissful on top of the lower lid to add some gold tones directly over the eyeball.  As mentioned above i have tattooed eyebrows so to get a definite feature i pencil over them to define them and give them shape, one of my biggest beauty regrets, as i now cant go anywhere without pencilling my eyebrows or i tend to look like Leo the Lion with a nice shade of blue over my eyeballs thanks to the ink discolouration.

This palette is gorgeous, the colours are so sparkly the photographs really don’t do them justice at all. The colours are easy to apply, good to blend, can be layered and darkened very easily so they can be used as a light daytime style or dark smokey shade for an evening out.  Gorgeous and highly recommended.

20170825_121150
3D Fibre Lashes

Following my eye shadow and eyebrow application, it was time to try the Moodstruck 3D Fibre Lashes kit…..

20170825_084824

Now the idea of this product is to build your lashes up to a length that you want, do you want slight and subtle? or big, bold lashes that look like false lashes? either way you can do this with this kit. I was a bit dubious that the initial application would do anything, but the thickener did actually make a difference on its own so i was pleasantly surprised when i added the second application.  My eyelashes were definitely thicker and darker and i was pretty impressed, if you like your eyes bold i’d say give this kit a go, over time i think it would save a lot on false lashes.

20170825_121940

So once my eyes and brows were sorted all it left, after a quick splash of my own blusher, was my lips.  This was the piece of kit i was most looking forward to using. I applied the Moodstruck Splash Liquid Lipstick in Superstitious, i absolutely love it!!!!

20170825_084709

It goes on so easy and it doesn’t need multiple layers for it to be bold, it literally comes out the colour you see on my photographs, its thick but not heavy, eye catching and really makes you stand out.  I love bold statement lips, as I’ve mentioned in my previous blogs, my colour of choice is normally red, but this colour changed my look so much and i felt a lot more different than i would picking my usual colour.  The lipstick lasts really well, but just beware of smudging your lips because it does show, not because of the product itself but more so the colour.

One thing it didn’t do that red lipstick is known for is stain my teeth BONUS!!!! i do tend to spend a lot of time licking my own teeth when i wear red lipstick or gloss, i tend to look like an excited Labrador that has a cheeseburger waved in front of him, because im so aware of the life of its own red lippy has, this on the other hand was fine and did stay put.  Until that is, i had a cheeky smooch with the hubby who then looked like he’d caught some unsavoury disease and belonged in a coffin.  Clare was on hand with a quick tip of removing the lipstick with baby wipes which worked a treat, but i personally removed mine in the shower.

I really do love this lipstick and i will be trying some other colours also, they didn’t dry my lips out and didn’t spread onto my skin at all so i was very happy with the result.  All i need was to sort my bonce out to complete the look….

20170825_130714-e1503864866807.jpg
Victory rolls and blue lips

20170825_130718

IMG_20170827_142521_381

In all i really enjoyed using these products, they are reliable, nice on your skin, light, hard wearing and long lasting.  I would say that this brand of make up are on a Parr with any other high street make up, the joy of these products is that you don’t have to trawl the shops endlessly to find what you want, these products are all delivered to your door whenever the fancy takes you.  I will definitely be purchasing some items myself in the near future and would advise anyone to contact you local distributor and get buying.

xxxxxx

 

 

 

 

 

 

